EIIC: Emergency Medical Services for Children | Innovation and Improvement Center

About

doctor helping child patient

Contact Us

1102 Bates Avenue
Suite 1850
Houston, TX 77030

The Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Innovation and Improvement Center (EIIC) is housed at Texas Children’s Hospital (TCH) and Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) in Houston, TX. Collaborating partner organizations include the Emergency Nurses Association, the National Association of State EMS Officials, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the American College of Emergency Physicians. The EIIC will utilize a clinical systems integration framework to provide the emergency care community with training, support, and tools to use quality improvement methodology in order to reduce morbidity and mortality in children.

The EIIC focuses on accelerating improvements in quality of care and outcomes for children who are in need of urgent or emergency care through an infrastructure that ensures routine, integrated coordination of quality improvement activities between key stakeholder organizations and their champions. Through its efforts, the EIIC hopes to demonstrate how leveraging quality improvement science, the experiential knowledge at TCH and BCM, and the expertise of multiple professional societies and federal organizations, can improve and transform health care outcomes for children in the United States.

Funding

The federal Emergency Medical Services for Children program works in partnership with States, communities, medical institutions, public-private partners, and families to enhance the capability and capacity of EMS systems to manage the emergency medical needs of children in the areas of prevention, pre-hospital EMS care, hospital-based care, rehabilitation and re-entry of the child into the community. The program is administered by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Program History

The federal EMS for Children program established a National Resource Center in 1991, with the goal of reducing the disparities between emergency treatment of children and adults across the nation. The resources below provide additional information about the former National Resource Center and the EMSC program history.

HRSA Emergency Medical Services for Children takes a new direction with the EIIC

Accelerating improvements in healthcare outcomes requires greater efficiency of all functions within the US health care system. Infrastructures that maintain the nation’s assets for supporting emergency medical services for children must be transformed from mere coordination and dissemination centers to active cores for quality improvement (QI) across silos. An improvement science based model is necessary to link tools, efforts, and entities to effectively decrease child and youth mortality and morbidity sustained as a result of illness or injury. More than simple collaborative relationships, this structure requires integrated daily functioning of key stakeholder organizations and their quality improvement champions.

The EIIC is focused on improving outcomes for children in emergency situations by using improvement science as the basis for collaborative efforts to address known gaps in the US healthcare system. Collaboratives are networks designed for shared learning, driven by an evidence base and known gaps to facilitate rapid translation of research into clinical practice.  The EIIC is prepared to support these collaboratives through varied learning systems, coaching, project management, information technology infrastructure, data management, and analytics. The EIIC will partner with stakeholders at every level of emergency medical services for to ensure the needs of injured and critically ill children are adequately addressed.

macias

Charles Macias MD, MPH
Executive Director and Principal Investigator

cgmacias@texaschildrens.org
shah

Manish Shah MD, MS
Executive Leader, Pre-Hospital & State Partnerships Co-Director

mxshah@texaschildrens.org
remick

Kate Remick MD
Executive Leader, Hospital Based Care Director & State Partnerships Co-Director

kate.remick@gmail.com
andrea_cruz

Andrea Cruz MD, MPH
Research Director

atcruz@texaschildrens.org
graves

Krisanne Graves PhD, RN
Program Coordinator

kxgraves@texaschildrens.org
kaziny

Brent Kaziny MD
Disaster Preparedness Director

bxkaziny@texaschildrens.org
naik-mathuria

Bindi Naik-Mathuria MD
Trauma Co-Director

bjnaikma@texaschildrens.org
Fendya

Diana Fendya RN, MSN, R
Project Specialist for Trauma, Acute Care & State Partnerships

fendya@bcm.edu
Diaa Alqusairi

Diaa Alqusairi PhD
Lead Project Manager, Disaster Planning, Research & PreHospital

dxalqusa@texaschildrens.org
Raphael

Jean Raphael MD, MPH
Advocacy Director

Raphael@bcm.edu
Rattler

Tiffany Rattler BS
Advocacy Project Manager

txrattle@texaschildrens.org
Vachani

Joyee Vachani MD, MEd
Education Director

jgvachan@texaschildrens.org
bartley

Krystle Bartley MA
QI Collaboratives Specialist

kxbartle@texaschildrens.org
patel

Binita Patel MD
Measurement Director

bxpatel@texaschildrens.org
RAlter2012.jpg

Rachael Alter BA, QAS
State Partnership Project Manager, NASEMSO

alter@nasemso.org
CMichaelFordis.jpg

Michael Fordis MD
CCIT Consultant

fordis@bcm.edu
Connie Smith

Connie Smith BA
Sr. Administrative Coordinator

cjsmith@texaschildrens.org
shook

Joan Shook MD, MBA
Patient Safety Director, QI Advisory

jeshook@texaschildrens.org
Breanna Smith

Breanna Smith BS
Disaster Preparedness and Hospital Based Care Project Manager, AAP

bsmith@aap.org
Cathy Olson, ENA

Catherine Olson MSN, RN
Hospital Based Care Project Manager, ENA

Catherine.Olson@ena.org
Cassidy Penn

Cassidy Penn MEd
QI Education Project Specialist

cvpenn@texaschildrens.org

Betsy Lewis MSN, CNL
Evidence Based Outcomes Specialist

bslewis1@texaschildrens.org
JoeHaganLinkedIn

Joseph Hagan
Research Statistician

Aleta Grant
Administrative Coordinator, EMSC Innovation and Improvement Center

axgrant@texaschildrens.org
no profile photo

Victor Gonzalez MD
Grants Manager

vmgonzal@bcm.edu
no profile photo

Chris Lovelady
Accountant

cdlovela@texaschildrens.org