EGLPCDR now “Region V for Kids”

  • Published March 31, 2022
Region V for Kids (small)

The Eastern Great Lakes Pediatric Consortium for Disaster Response (EGLPCDR), one of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response‘s two Pediatric Disaster Centers of Excellence, is now “Region V for Kids.”

The change reflects the growth of the consortium, which has expanded from Ohio and Michigan to include Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. It also represents alignment with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA’s) regional framework.

“As a group, we felt this new name better represents our reach and our purpose,” says Deanna Dahl-Grove, MD, FAAP, Co-Principal Investigator of Region V for Kids, which is led by University Hospitals Rainbow Babies and Children's. “We are excited to expand our focus beyond the initial two states and our five children’s hospitals within them—in doing so, we aim to serve even more children and families.”

A new logo (at right) reflects the change; the name will be updated across its website and educational materials over time.

In addition to Rainbow Babies and Children's, Region V for Kids includes:

  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital (Cincinnati, OH),
  • CS Mott Children's Hospital/University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, MI),
  • Children's Hospital of Michigan (Detroit, MI),
  • Helen DeVos/Spectrum Health (Grand Rapids, MI),
  • Nationwide Children's Hospital (Columbus, OH),
  • Lurie Children’s Hospital (Chicago, IL),
  • Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin (Milwaukee, WI),
  • Children’s Hospital of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN), and 
  • Riley Children’s Hospital (Indianapolis, IN).

Both Pediatric Disaster Centers of Excellence–Region V for Kids and Western Regional Alliance for Pediatric Emergency Management–are part of the new Pediatric Pandemic Network.

Learn more about Region V for Kids here.